Bristol Rugby win Community Initiative of the Year 2010

Bristol Rugby have been announced as winners of the Community Initiative of the Year 2010 at the 5th Annual All-Party Parliamentary Rugby Citizenship Awards.

Bristol Rugby pipped Saracens, Bath Rugby and Northampton Saints to the top award after a panel of judges unanimously crowned their Phoenix Project: Bright Sparks Programme as the winner. The four clubs battled for the title after being named as category winners in the first round.  Here’s a quick look at how things went on the night.

‘Bright Sparks’ is a social inclusion programme that utilizes the highest quality rugby union skills, drills and games, with team building and leadership workshops. The aim is to attain rapport with, and re-engage designated young people from schools in high risk areas back into the educational process. Working in partnership with organisations such as, Avon Fire & Rescue Service, Avon & Somerset Police and SERCO Prisons, the programme provides young people with direct and tangible examples of how poor life choices will directly affect their lives.

Derek Wyatt MP, Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group said;

This is the most sensational programme. It focuses on youth crime and anti-social behaviour, which are two very tricky areas to tackle. Their aims and objectives are really clear, well thought through and very targeted. It’s a very clean and simple programme, which is producing results. Bristol Rugby are solving something that, we can’t do as a government, nor can local education authorities.”

The awards were judged by a panel including; Derek Wyatt MP, Chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group, Robert Walter MP, Treasurer of the All Party Parliamentary Group, Mark McCafferty, CEO of Premier Rugby Ltd, Kevin Roberts, Editorial Director of SportBusiness Magazine and Alex MacGillivray, Senior Partner at Accountability.

Here’s a look at how things went on the night.

Winners from the first round were awarded on the night as follows;

Health Programme of the Year – Northampton Saints – Kick Smoking into Touch programme

Education programme of the Year – Bath Rugby Community Foundation – Language through Sport programme

Participation Programme of the Year – Saracens – Community Dance Programme.

Social Inclusion Programme of the Year – Bristol Rugby – Phoenix Project: Bright Sparks programme.
Commendations to Worcester Warriors – Worcestershire npower tag inclusive programme.

The All-Party Parliamentary Rugby Citizenship Awards, now in their fifth year, recognise the positive impact that professional rugby clubs have on their local environment, community and society.